Sindhu Bhairavi

The scales of Sindhu Bhairavi are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R2 G2 M1 G2 P D1 N2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : N2 D1 P M1 G2 R1 S N2 S

This is a janya raga, derived from Natakapriya (see below), 10th on the Melakarta scale.  However, some say that Sindhu Bhairavi as sung now is a derivative of 8th Melakarta Hanumatodi and 20th Melakarta Natabhairavi asboth R1 and R2 are used in this raga. I have also read that there it is not a raga which can be so classified because all 12 notes can be used (some sparingly). I understand that the raga has origins in the Middle East.

10 Natakapriya

In Carnatic concerts, this raga is not often used for elaborations but for light numbers or bhajans towards the end. It is indeed quite regularly sung. The beautiful Thillana by Lalgudi Jayaraman will be familiar to all as also Swati Thirunal’s Bhaja Bhaja Manasa and Vishveshvar Darshan Kar, Iduvo Thillai by Gopalakrishna Bharati.

For Tamil speakers, here is a lec-dem by Charulata Mani on this raga.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


13 responses to “Sindhu Bhairavi

  1. JOSIN C O

    I can’t find the actual arohana and avarohana of the raga

  2. JOSIN C O

    Hats off for your effort you done for this blog. If there was a chance to know the ragas’ arohana and avarohana , it will be useful to refer academic level too. Best wishes for your future planning on this matter.

    • You have made the same comment before but this is not an academic blog. The purpose is music appreciation for listeners. I am not qualified to write about anything academic.
      Cheers. Suja

  3. patchandra

    please note that both Muthu Mani malai from Chinna Counder and Chingari in hindi are both in this raag Am I correct

    • I am not that familiar with Tamil film music but yes, Chingari is based on Hindustani Bhairavi, an equivalent of Sindhu Bhairavi in Carnatic music. Of course, being filmi music, the raga is not strictly adhered to.
      Cheers. Suja

  4. Jay

    Sindhu Bhairavi doesn’t have D2, its D1. Please correct your mistake then I’ll delete this comment.

  5. satish

    Is it D1 or not? All black keys on piano right?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s