The scales of Raga Rasikapriya are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R3 G3 M2 P D3 N3 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N3 D3 P M2 G3 R3 S

72 Rasikapriya

It is 72nd on the Melakarta Scale, the last one. It is also known as Rasamanjari.

A minor raga, there are only a few compositions I have heard with any regularity. I find it very pleasing but I admit to having heard it but rarely, and that too only short pieces. Arul Seyya Vendum Ayya is the best known composition in this raga. Other compositions in this raga are Pavana Tanaye by Balamuralikrishna and Sringara Rasamanjari by Muthuswami Dikshithar.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s