The scales of Todi (also called Hanumatodi) are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R1 G2 M1 P D1 N2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N2 D1 P M1 G2 R1 S

8 Todi

Todi is a 8th on the Melakarta Scale.

This ancient raga is deep and profound, setting a soothing and introspective mood. In the Hindustani system it is called the Bhairavi Thath and is considered a morning raga. It lends itself to slow and elaborate renditions and is often performed on stage as the centre-piece of a concert. There are many well known and well loved compositions in this raga, too many for me to list. Thaye Yashoda by Oothukadu Venkatasubbaiyer, Kartikeya Gangeya and Tamadam En by Papanasam Sivan, Endu Daginado by Tyagaraja, Ninne Nammi by Shyama Shastri  are all kritis I listen to often.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s