The scales of Sriranjani are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R2 G2 M1 D2 N2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N2 D2 M1 G2 R2 S

It is a janya raga, derived from Kharaharapriya (see below) which is 22nd on the Melakarta scale.

22-4 Sriranjani

Sriranjani means ‘that which please Goddess Sri (Lakshmi)’. A raga with a certain verve,  it is often sung at the first half of the concert to infuse energy into the concert.

There are many compositions in this raga. Some of the ones you hear often in concerts are Brochevarevare Raghupate, Marubalka  and Sogasuga Mrdanga by Tyagaraja, Gajavadana Karuna and Ini Oru Kanam by Papanasam Sivan, Shri Dum Durge and Ni Sati Deiva by Muthuswami Dikshithar and Kanavendamo by Gopalakrishna Bharati.

Tamil readers may enjoy the following discussion on the raga by Charulatha Mani.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s