Simhendra Madhyamam

The scales of Simhendra Madhyamam are as follows:

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R2 G2 M2 P D1 N3 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S N3 D1 P M2 G2 R2 S

57 Simhendramadhyamam

It is the 57th on the Melakarta scheme. It has been adopted into Hindustani music as well. Simhendra Madhyamam lends itself to elaborate raga renditions and I have had the pleasure of listening to some excellent RTPs (Ragam-Tanam-Pallavi) in this raga. I do not strongly link any kritis with this raga but do listen to Kamakshi by Muthuswamy Dikshithar, Rama Rama by Swathi Thirunal and Ninne Nammithi by Mysore Vasudevachar.

Tamil speakers can enjoy Charulata Mani’s episode on this raga in her Isai Payanam series.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s