Shuddha Saveri

The scales of Shuddha Saveri are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R2 M1 P D2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ D2 P M1 R2 S

29-2 Shuddha Saveri

It is a janya raga, derived from Shankarabharanam (see below) which is 29nd on the Melakarta scale.

29 Shankarabharanam

Another name for the same raga is Devakriya. A symmetric raga, it contains neither gandharam nor nishadam. Some of the well known compositions in this raga are Darini Telusukonti by Tyagaraja, Janani Pahi Sada by Swathi Thirunal and Taye Tripurasundari by Periyasami Tooran.

The equivalent of Shuddha Saveri in Hindustani classical music is raga Durga. Though Shuddha Saveri and Durga share the same notes, they do sound different as the prayogas are not the same. Raga Durga is a late night raga with an elevating, playful and celebratory mood. It is supposed to instill courage in the listener’s heart.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas (ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s