The scales of Shubhapantuvarali (also called Shivapantuvarali) are as follows :

Arahonam (Ascending) : S R1 G2 M2 P D1 N3 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N3 D1 P M2 G2 R1 S

45 Shubhapantuvarali

It is the 45th raga on the Melakarta scale. It is equivalent to the Hindustani thaat Todi. Shubhapantuvarali is perhaps the most melancholy of ragas. The mood it sets is heavy with emotion, be it pathos or devotion. I am always moved when I listen to this raga. There are only a limited number of kritis in this raga. Sri Satyanarayanam by Muthuswami Dikshithar, Ennallu Urake by Tyagaraja and Paripahimam by Mysore Vasudevachar are the best known amongst them.

Tamil speaking readers may enjoy this short presentation of the raga by Charulata Mani in her Isai Payanam series:

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s