The scales of Raga Senjurutti (also spent in a variety of ways such as Chenchurutti, Shenjurutti etc) are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : D2 S R2 G3 M1 P D2 N2
Avarohanam (Descending) : N2 D2 P M1 G3 R2 S N2 D2 P D2 S

It is a janya raga, derived from Raga Harikambhoji (below) which is 28th on the Melakarta scale.

28 Harikambhoji

This raga derived from folk music and has a pleading note to it. An example of traditional folk music is the delightful Kavadi Chindu Valli Kanavan PeRai set to this raga. Tyagaraja has composed Rama Rama Rama RaRa and Navaneeta Chora in this raga.  Oothukadu Venkata Subbaiyer’s Pullay Piravi and Maadu Meikum Kanna are popular.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


2 responses to “Senjurutti

  1. Amithesh Ranjit

    Even the Thiruppugazh Nadavindu Kaladi composed by Arunagirinathar is in ragam Senjurutti and Vishamakara Kannan by Oothukkadu Venkata Kavi is in ragam Senjurutti

    • True about Vishamakara kannan. I was only giving a small sample! That said, Tiruppugazh verses are sung by artists in any raga they choose to.
      Cheers. Suja

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s