The scales of Ritigowla (spelt also as Reethigowla, Ritigaula etc) are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S G2 R2 G2 M1 N2 D2 M1 N2 N2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N2 D2 M1 G2 M1 P M1 G2 R2 S

It is a Janya Raga, derived from Kharaharapriya(see below), which is the 22nd on the Melakarta Scale.

22 Kharaharapriya

The raga invokes a strong devotional, contemplative and compassionate mood. It is particularly beautiful in a low register. It belongs to the second group of Ghana Ragas which also includes Kerdaram, Narayanagowla, Bauli and Saranganatta. Ghana ragas are known to be majestic and are particularly suited to tanam singing. There are some wonderful compositions by Tyagaraja which will be familiar to rasikas like Nannu Vidachi, Jo Jo Rama and Cherarava. Also well loved are Janani Ninnuvina by Subbaraya Shastri, Tatvamariya Tarama by Papanasam Sivan, Enna Punniyam by Oothukadu Venkata Subbaiyer, Guruvayur Appane by Ambujam Krishna and Paripalaya Maam by Swati Thirunal.

Tamil viewers may enjoy listening to following discussion on the raga by Charulatha Mani.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s