The scales of Raga Ranjani are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R2 G2 M2 D2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N3 D2 M2 G2 S

Ascending : 59-1 Ranjani Ascending

Descending: 59-1 Ranjani Descending

It is a Janya raga, derived from Dharmavati which is 59th on the Melakarta Scale (see below).

59 Dharmavati

A very pleasing raga, it is well named; Ranjani in Sanskrit means that which is pleasant, enjoyable and attractive. It is considered suitable for evenings. This raga can convey a number of moods such as devotion, sadness, compassion and, love. Traditionally it is not considered suitable for long elaborations however I have heard detailed renditions of this raga as well. There are only a few compositions in this raga. In addition to the well known Durmarga Chara by Tyagaraja, there is Ranjani Niranjani by G.N.Balasubramaniam and Pranamamyaham Sri Prananatham by Mysore Vasudevachar.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s