The scales of Natta are as follows

Arohanam (Ascending) : S R3 G3 M1 P D3 N3 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N3 P M1 R3 S

36-2 Natta Arohanam 36-2 Natta Avarohanam

It is a Janya raga, derived from Chalanatta (below), 36th in the Melakarta scale.

36 Chalanatta

The Raga is considered very auspicious and sung normally at the beginning of a concert.  It has a joyous and majestic feeling, but can be sung to denote other emotions such as longing. A stalwart raga in Carnatic Music there are many well-known and well-loved compositions. Jagadanandakaraka, one of Tyagaraja’s ghana-raga Pancharatna kritis is as well known as Muthuswami Dikshithar’s Mahaganapatim Manasa. You may also be familiar with Puliyur Doraiswami Iyer’s Sarasiruha Sanapriye, Muthuswami Dikshitar’s Swaminatha Paripalaya and Oothukadu Venkata Subbaiyer’s Ananda Nartana Ganaptim.

Tamil viewers may enjoy the presentation by Charulata Mani below. Interestingly she skips d3 in the Arohanam.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s