The scales of Raga Nasikabhushani are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R3 G3 M2 P D2 N2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N2 D2 P M2 G3 R3 S

It is the 70th raga on the Melakarta scale.

70 Nasikabhushani

It is a little-used raga with only a few compositions in it. Mara Vairi Ramani by Tyagaraja and Srirama Saraswati by Muthuswamy Dikshithar are the best known compositions.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s