The scales of Mukhari are as follows :

Arahonam (Ascending) : S R2 M1 P N2 D2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N2 D1 P M1 G2 R2 S

22-3 Mukhari Ascending

22-3 Mukhari Descending

It is a janya raga, derived from Kharaharapriya which is 22nd on the Melakarta scale.

22 Kharaharapriya

An emotional raga, it can sound very sorrowful and introspective. And of course, devotional as well. To me, it sounds best in a very slow speed, with each note and gamaka enunciated clearly. However, there are some crisper renditions of this raga which are also enjoyable. Some well known and often heard compositions are Sivakama Sundari by Papanasam Sivan, Sangeeta Shastra and Entani Ne  by Tyagaraja, Emani Ne by Subbaraya Shastri, Arivar Yaar by Arunachala Kavi and Endraikku Shiva Krupai by Neelakanta Sivan.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s