The scales of Raga Malayamarutam are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R1 G3 P D2 N2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N2 D2 P G3 R1 S

16-1 Malayamaarutam

This raga is a Janya Raga, derived from Chakravaham (scales below), 16th on the Melakarta scale.

16 Chakravaham

A quiet and pensive raga, this is suited for mornings. It means ‘a fragrant breeze from the hills’, and the mood it evokes is similar – rejuvenating, calming.  In Hindustani music, Raga Kalavati is the closest equivalent. Well known compositions in this raga are Karpaga Manohara by Papanasam Sivan and Manasa Etulo by Tyagaraja.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s