The scales of Madhyamavati are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R2 M1 P N2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) :  S’ N2 P M1 R2 S

22-1 Madhyamavati

Madhyamavati is a janya raga, derived from Kharaharapriya (below), 22nd on the Melakarta Scale.

22 Kharaharapriya

Madhyamavati is normally sung near the end of a concert as it is said to wash away the sin of singing wrong notes! It is also appropriate for elaborations as the notes are well spaced. There are very many popular compositions in this raga, some of which are Adathu asangathu va kanna by Oothukadu Venkata Subbaiyyar, Nagumomu galavani and Rama Katha Sudha by Tyagaraja, Karpakame by Papanasam Sivan and Palinchu Kamakshi by Shyama Shastri.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s