The scales of Raga Kharaharapriya are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R2 G2 M1 P D2 N2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N2 D2 P M1 G2 R2S

22 Kharaharapriya

It is 22nd on the Melakarta scale. It is equivalent to the Kafi thaat in Hindustani music. The mood of the raga is pathos and it is typically sung in a slow pace to bring out this mood. As the raga allows a number of ornamentations, it is very suitable for elaborate renditions. Tyagaraja is the only one of the trinity who has composed in this raga; the most famous compositions are Chakkani Raja, Pakkala Nilapadi, Rama Nee Samana and Nadachi Nadachi. Those interested in technical details about this raga, click here.

Tamil readers may enjoy the following discussion of the raga by Charulatha Mani.

 Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s