The scales of Raga Kanada are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R2 G2 M1 D N2 S’ (alternate : S R2 P G2 M1 D N2 S’)
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N2 P M1 G2 M1 R2 S

This raga is a Janya Raga, derived from Kharaharapriya (scales below), 22nd on the Melakarta scale.

22 Kharaharapriya

This raga sets a sad mood. In Hindustani music, Kanada refers not to one raga but a family of ragas. Kanada is a very popular raga, often used in Ragamalikas or RTPs. This raga stresses heavily on gamakas or ornamentations and minute nuances. Well known kritis in this raga are Alai Payude by Oothukadu Venkata Subbaiyer, Sukhi Evvaro by Tyagaraja, Nera Nammiti varnam by Poochi Srinivasa Iyengar, Enna Solli Azhaithal by Ambujam Krishna and Mamava Sada Janani by Swati Thirunal. .

Tamil speakers may enjoy this short Isai Payanam episode by Charulata Mani.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s