The scales of Raga Kambhoji (the other major spelling variation being Kambodhi) are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R2 G3 M1 P D2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N2 D2 P M1 G3 R2 S , with N3 used rarely as anya swaram.

This raga is a Janya Raga, derived from Harikambhoji (below), 28th on the Melakarta scale.

28 Harikambhoji

Though a janya raga, it is a major raga and enjoys an important place in Carnatic Music along with the major melas like Todi, Shankharabharanam, Kalyani and Kharaharapriya. It is an old raga and has been mentioned as early as the 7th century. Given its name, its origins are probably from the Kamboj or Kambhoj people, a territory possibly in North-West India. This Raga lends itself to detailed elaborations and sounds good in all tempos. It is considered auspicious and its mood is both tranquil and courageous. It is often described as being majestic.  All the major composers have contributed a number of kritis in this raga; some well known kritis are O Rangashayee by Tyagaraja, Sri Subrahmanyaya namaste by Muthuswami Dikshithar, Kana Kan Koti Vendum by Papanasam Sivan, Thiruvadi Sharanam by Gopalakrishna Bharati and Kuzhaloodi Manamellam by Oothukadu Venkata Subbaiyer.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


One response to “Kambhoji

  1. Pingback: Kana Kan Kodi Vendum | Music To My Ears

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s