The scales of Kamaas (alt spelling : Kamas, Khamas) are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S M1 G3 M1 P D2 N2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N2 D2 P M1 G3 R2 S

It is a Janya raga, derived from Harikambhoji (see below), 28th of the Melakarta scale.

28 Harikambhoji

It’s origin is the Hindustani Kamaj Thaat. It is a late night raga and evokes the sringara rasa (love, beauty, attraction). A well loved raga, there are quite a few compositions which would be well known to the average listen like Brochevarevarura by Mysore Vasudevachar, Sitapati Na Manasuna and Sujana Jivana by Tyagaraja, Idadu padam Tookki by Papasanasam Sivan,  the Varnam Mate Malayadwaja by Mutthiah Bhagavathar, and Sarasa Dala Nayana by Muthuswami Dikshithar. .

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


2 responses to “Kamas

  1. Seetha

    Is N3 used in khamas at times?

    • Yes Seetha, I understand N3 can be sparingly used as a ‘anya swara’. However, I am not a musician; these kind of questions are best addressed to more knowledgeable people.
      Cheers. Suja

Leave a Reply to Seetha Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s