The scales of Kalyani are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R2 G3 M2 P D2 N3 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N3 D2 P M2 G3 R2 S

Also called Mechakalyani, it is the 65th raga on the Melakarta Scale. The Hindustani equivalent is Yaman.

65 Kalyani

Kalyani is an evening raga and as it is said to be mood-setting, it is sung quite early on in a concert. There are simply hundreds of compositions in Kalyani, one source on the internet said that there are many as 700! It also has a number of very popular Janya ragas like Purvi Kalyani, Yaman Kalyani, Hameer Kalyani etc. A few well known compositions are Vanajakshi (varnam) by Pallavi Gopala Iyer, Nidhi Chala Sukhama by Tyagaraja, Kamalambal Bhajare by Muthuswamy Dikshithar and Pankaja Lochana by Swati Tirunal.

There is a very interesting lecture-demonstration on Kalyani Raga and its janyas by Prince Rama Varma, both enjoyable and educational. A must-see for those interested in Indian Classical music.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


2 responses to “Kalyani

  1. samanarayan

    Very well put! Prince Rama Varma’s lecture demos are so full of wisdom. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s