Kalayana Vasantam

The scales of Raga Kalyana Vasantam are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S G2 M1 D1 N3 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N3 D1 P M1 G2 R2 S

It is a Janya raga, derived from Keeravani which is 21st on the Melakarta Scale (see below).

21 Keeravani

This joyful raga is propitious and is said to bring beneficial results to its listeners. It is an evening raga especially appropriate to be sung in spring, thanks to its name, and also at weddings. Though there are not many compositions in this raga, the few which are well known are Nadaloludai by Tyagaraja, Sri Venkatesham Bhajami by Muthuswami Dikshithar, Deva Jagannatha by Gopalakrishna Bharati  and Innu Daya Barade by Purandaradasa.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s