The scales of Jaganmohini are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S G3 M1 P N3 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N3 P M1 G3 R1 S

15-3 Jaganmohini Ascent Arahonam

15-3 Jaganmohini Decent Avarohanam

It is a janya raga derived from Mayamalavgowla (see below) which is 15th on the Melakarta scale.


In my opinion, the raga has a brisk and energising air to it. The most well known composition is Tyagaraja’s Shobillu Saptasvara. Others you may have heard are Mamavam Satatam Ragunatha also by Tyagaraja, Shivakama Sundari by Gopalakrishna Bharati, Daya Juda by Shyama Shastri, Pahi Taraka by Swathi Thirunal, Pari Pahimam by Mysore Vasudevachar and Sri Vidya Rajagopalam by Dikshithar.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.