The scales of Gowla are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R1 M1 P N3 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) :  S’ N3 P M1 R1 G3 M1 R1 S

Gowla is a janya raga, derived from Mayamalavagowla (below), 15th on the Melakarta scale.

15 Mayamalavagowla

Gowla is one of the Ghana Raga Panchakam, a group of 5 ragas namely Natta, Gowla, Arabhi, Varali and Sri in which Tyagaraja composed his famous Pancharatna kritis. Subbarama Dikshithar describes these as particularly suitable for singing from the nabhi (navel).  This is a raga with a certain majesty. Some well known compositions in this raga are Dudukugala by Tyagaraja, Tyagaraja Palayasumam by Dikshithar and Pranamamyaham by Mysore Vasudevachar.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s