The scales of Dhenuka are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R1 G2 M1 P D1 N3 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) :  S’ N3 D1 P M1 G2 R1 S

9 Dhenuka

Dhenuka is the 9th raga on the Melakarta Scale.

It is another of those ragas which one hears but rarely. Apart from the well known Teliyaleru Rama by Tygaraja, there is Karunai Kadale by Koteeswara Iyer who has composed in all the 72 Melakarta ragas.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s