The scales of Dharmavati are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R2 G2 M2 P D2 N3 S’
Avarohanam (Descending ) : S N3 D2 P M2 G2 R2 S

59 Dharmavati

Dharmavati is 59th on the Melakarta scale. A very pleasing and sensuous sounding raga, it is quite suitable for elaborations; in RTPs the tanam sounds especially pleasing. Well known compositions in this raga are Parandhamavai Jayati by Dikshithar, Bhajanaseya Rada by Mysore Vasudevachar and Ododi Vanden Kanna by Ambujam Krishna.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s