The scales of Dhanyasi are as follows :

Arahonam (Ascending) : S G2 M1 P N2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N2 D1 P M1 G2 R1 S

8-2 Dhanyasi Arohanam_thumb[1]

8 Todi_thumb[1]

It is a janya raga, derived from Hanumatodi which is 8th on the Melakarta scale. It portrays a devotional mood and is considered an auspicious raga. Quite an old raga from the pre-Melakarta days, it is mentioned in medieval documents. As often with ragas, there are different opinions regarding classification. Readers with technical knowledge may enjoy reading this article. There are very many compositions in this raga.   Some that I would bring to your attention are Mina Lochana by Shyama Shastri, Sangita Jnanamu and Dhyaname Varamaina by Tyagaraja, and Balakrishnan Padamalar by Papanasam Sivan.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s