The scales of Desh are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R2 M1 P N3 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) :   S’ N2 D2 P M1 G3 R2 S

Desh is a janya raga, descending from Harikambhoji (below) which is 28th on the Melakarta scale.

Harikambhoji Mela 28

This raga is Hindustani in origin and used mainly for bhajans and tukkadas in Carnatic Music. In Hindustani music, it is considered a night-time raga. Even there, it is more popular in the ‘lighter’ side of classical music. To read an erudite article on this Hindustani raga, click here.  For Carnatic Music lovers, Lalgudi’s Thillana in Desh is well-loved and familiar. Aside from this, Tunbam Nergayil by Bharati Dasan, Rama Namame by Tanjavur Shankara Iyer are also sung in Desh.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s