The scales of Darbar (Durbar) are as follows :

Arohanam (Ascending) : S R2 M1 P D2 N2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : R2’ S’ N2 S D2 P M1 R2 G2 G2 R2 S

The Ascending scale : 22-2 Darbar Ascending

The descending scale uses all the notes of its parent raga, Kharahapriya (below) which is 22nd on the Melakarta scale.

22 Kharaharapriya

This raga is a comparatively recent entry to Carnatic Music, possibly in the earlier part of the 18th century. This is not a raga which suits elaboration. A slightly different version is Darubaru of the Dikshithar school. A raga which is suited to both slow and brisk renditions, Tyagaraja’s many compositions act as a how-to manual for this raga. His very racy Yochana Kamalalocha contrasts well with his slow-paced Mundu Venuka. His Aparadhamula and Ramabhirama are also often heard in concerts. Chalamela Varnam by Tiruvottriyur Tyagayyar is another composition that is often heard in concerts. For further details, read a good discussion of this raga here.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s