The scales of Charukesi are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R2 G3 M1 P D1 N2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) :  S’ N2 D1 P M1 G3 R2 S

26 Charukesi

Charukesi is 26th on the Melakarta scale. It has a strong sringara bhava, appropriate for displaying both love and devotion. This raga has in the last half-century migrated north and is called Charukeshi in the Hindustani tradition. As a new entrant, its interpretation seems to vary in different schools in the North. Important compositions are Adamodi Galade by Tyagaraja and Kripaya Palaya by Swati Thirunal, but we should not forget the beautiful varnam Innum En Manam by Lalgudi Jayaraman either.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


2 responses to “Charukesi

  1. Beautifully presented with clarity for the beginner. Thank you. It is so amazing how little is known about Carnatic music outside of South India. Keep writing and sharing music with us.

    • Thank you Guy! I confess though, I don’t really write for musicians but for fellow listeners like myself who want are interested in a more educated listening experience 🙂 But if you find it of use, I am happy!
      Cheers. Suja

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s