The scales of Raga Bhoopalam (also Bhupalam) are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R1 G2 P D1 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ D1 P G2 R1 S

8-1 Bhoopalam

It is a Janya raga, derived from Hanumatodi which is 8h on the Melakarta Scale.

8 Todi

As auspicious raga, it is considered best for the mornings. It is often played at temples just before the gates are opened. This Raga has roots in ancient Tamil music and is said to be derived from the Pann Puranirmai. It is sung with few ornamentations. A raga which invokes tranquillity and devotion, it has been used for traditional devotional music like thevarams. However, there are only a few kritis composed in this raga, amongst which the better known are Sadacheleshwaram by Muthuswami Dikshithar and Goplaka Pahimam by Swati Tirunal.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s