The scales of Bauli are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R1 G3 P D1 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) :  S’ N3 D1 P G3 R1 S

Bauli is a janya raga, derived from Mayamalavagowla (see below), 15th on the Melakarta Scale.

15 Mayamalavagowla

Bauli is a morning raga and finds a natural place at the beginning of concerts. I find a deep meditative quality in this raga. Some famous compositions in this raga are Melukovayya by Tyagaraja, Shambho Mahadeva by Neelakanta Sivan, Parvati Nayaka by Swati Thirunal,  Karunanidhiye by Papanasam Sivan and Sri Parvati Paremeshwarau by Muthuswami Dikshithar.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


2 responses to “Bauli

  1. Dr. Gopesh Chandra Dixit.

    what type of gamakam is accepted in raga bauli, is not mentioned here. please mention it.

    • I am sorry but I am not knowledgeable enough to discuss the raga in more detail. I am merely a rasika, not a musician or a musicologist.
      Cheers. Suja

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s