The scales of Arabhi are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S R2 M1 P D2 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) :  S’ N3 D2 P M1 G3 R2 S

Arabhi is a janya raga, derived from Shankarabharanam (below), 29th on the Melakarta scale.

29 Shankarabharanam

This raga has a very energetic mood, displaying both veera and bhakti rasa. There are many well-known compositions in Arabhi such as Sadinchane, Chalakallaladukonna, Nada Sudha and O Rajeevaksha by Tyagaraja, Sri Saraswati Namostute by Muthuswami Dikshithar, Maragata Manimaya by Oothukadu Venkatasubbaiyar, Narasimha Mamava by Swathi Thirunal to name a few.

For knowledgeable readers, there is a discussion of Raga Arabhi here.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


One response to “Arabhi

  1. K N James

    Use the notation sa r1 r2 g1 g2 m1 m2 pa d1 d2 n1 n2 . g1 can also be called r3, r2 can also be called g0. similarly n1 as d3 and d2 as n0.
    so shankarabharanam will be s r2 g2 m1 p d2 n2. Kalyani as s r2 g2 m2 p d2 n2 .This will match as well with hindustani and western notes.

    Dr. K N James

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s