The scales of Raga Amrutavarshini are as follows :

Aarohanam (Ascending) : S G3 M2 P N3 S’
Avarohanam (Descending) : S’ N3 P M2 G3 S

66-1 Amrutavarshini

This raga is a Janya Raga, derived from Chitrambari (scales below), 66th on the Melakarta scale. Some musicologists consider it to be derived from Jalavarali (39th Melakarta) or Mechakalyani(65th Melakarta).

66 Chitrambari

The moods associated with this raga are joy and exuberance. There are not many compositions in this raga. The ones I have heard and enjoyed are are Anandmrutakarshini by Muthuswami Dikshitar, Sarasiruha Nayane by Tyagaraja and Sudhamayi Sudhanidhi by Muthiah Bhagavatar.

Note : The 12 notes in the octave are named as below. Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music. Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) and prayogas (signature phrases) are a very important part of a raga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s