A Discordant Note

This morning I was quietly getting ready to put finishing touches to my last and final post for this Navaratri when a whole cup of hot tea took a tumble into the keyboard of my laptop, instantly killing it. After mopping up everything, I optimistacally tried starting it again. But no, it has died a permanent death…sigh! I am still grappling in my mind to come to terms with it. I am not even sure of what I have lost in terms of data….

I called my husband to cry on his shoulders but he claimed that it was a grand opportunity for me to go shopping for the latest and the greatest models out there. But I cannot as yet – I need to grieve for my faithful companion and friend before I can replace it…

In the meanwhile, I have lost my post in honour of Sarswati; I will come back to it when I eventually get a system going again. As all my music, my notes, my bookmarks etc have disappeared with my laptop, I’ll have to take a break from posting until I get myself a new one and organise myself. Hopefully it will not take too long. Perhaps it is right that my laptop go for its visarjan on the same day that all the Durgas venerated during this Puja are taken in visarjan to be dissolved in rivers and oceans everywhere. A Hapy Vijayadashami to you all!

17 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous

17 responses to “A Discordant Note

  1. Hi Suja,
    I know how you must feel! It is indeed sickening to realize that these little instruments have such a control on what we do that their disppearance causes such a havoc… I suppose you’ll have to find your stuff again little by little. One suggestion, though (I’m not sure it’s valid for other losable items), for your bookmarks you could do like me: mine are now all on Google, this way I don’t have to worry transferring them from incompatible laptop to incompatible laptop when I change models or places. It’s true that I’m vulnerable to a Google crash one day, but they certainly have more protections that I will ever have, so…
    Warmly,
    yves

    • Thank you Yves for your sympathetic and warm note. It is true, I am indeed held ransom by these material posessions…it makes me rather ashamed in a way😦 Yes, I was indeed thinking just now that I should make better use of cloud storage and other internet based utilities rather than depend on my hard disk. Thanks again.

  2. Ramesh

    Oh; that’s sad. But don’t worry – all your data will get retrieved from your hard disk. That won’t get corrupted because of a tea spill. Get yourself the sleekest, loveliest, prettiest, wonderful-est, laptop in the world as some compensation !!!

    Visarjan on Vijayadashami day is auspicious ! Happy Vijayadashami to you too.

  3. Filmbuff

    Hey Suja – Happy vijayadahsmi to you too tho i am late by a day (have been busy with navaratri over here) ! I second your husband’s suggestion about finding a brand new laptop! I think your previous data may still be there – get one of the IT pros in ur circle to have a look.

    SMC is holding its special navaratri program on Sunday 28 Oct – this year the focus is on Dikshitar’s devi kritis. Should be an interesting program.

    • Hi there! Yes, indeed the world of laptops is forver changing and there are lots of nice gadgets for me to mull over. I am such a gadget freak!!
      SMS program sounds interesting, will look forward to your telling me all about it later🙂

  4. Banno

    Oh Suja, how sad! But good too in a way, gives you an opportunity to buy a new laptop.🙂

    • True🙂 I moped all day yesterday but this morning I have been browsing pcmag, cnet etc to see whats new out there…windows 8 hybrids are here, wonder whether I should go for one? Shopping is fun🙂

  5. J

    Oh no! That’s too bad – how we get so dependent on these devices😦 I hope you are able to recover everything from your hard drive and that’s a reminder to all of us to create regular back-ups. Enjoy shopping for a new laptop and hope to see a post soon created on the newest and coolest laptop out there – whatever that may be!

    • Hi J, Yes, I am busy researching for a new laptop! The timing is good, windows 8 is here and with it a lot of new hybrids which attract me. I may wait a little while to see what new stuff come in November for the pre-christmas rush…I’m not hurrying! I do have a desktop but all my stuff was there on the laptop. If I can get organised on the desktop, I can maybe start posting again but maybe its not bad to take a small breather🙂
      Cheers. Suja

  6. Oh no! I am sure a new computer will be an excellent toy but the set up and the retrieving…It’s a pain. I will have to revisit your posts from last year😀 Temple

    • True Temple, it will be time consuming to set it all up as I like it…but I guess its an opportunity to start with a fresh slate and be a bit more neat and tidy🙂 I find even shopping for the replacement exhausting, sigh! And thank you for reading the old stuff, my stats appreciate it hehehehe🙂

  7. Narasimha Raj

    Suja, I’m sure you’ve followed some or all suggestions in earlier comments – for you to get-over the problem/predicament.
    Interestingly, 4 or 5 weeks ago, in one of the episodes of a very enjoyable Hindi Serial – “Tarak Mehta ka Ooltah Chashma”, that I watch on TV, Mr. Iyer – a scientist – gets into the same predicament as you did – when he spilled ‘Coffee’ (instead of ‘tea’ as in your case, as he is a South-Indian/Madraasi) on his laptop and got desperate as he had a Presentation to make at a Science Convention the same evening. Watching that was ‘fun’! However, he got the laptop repaired in time..
    I wonder whether the producer/director/script-writer of the Serial got the ‘idea’ from what happened to your laptop! If so, wonder whether he paid you handsomely to use the ‘idea’ in the episode and whether that financed you to buy a ‘mod’ laptop!!
    All’s well that ends well – for your ‘blog-posts’ have continued without any indication of the situation you got into. Keep going.
    God Bless you.
    Raj

    • 🙂 I wish I had a big royalty from the makes of the serial! It would have come in useful! I have of course a new and very fancy laptop which I am inordinately fond of, so all has ended well indeed.
      Cheers. Suja

  8. Narasimha Raj

    Suja, this has nothing to do with ‘discordant note’ but has everything to do with ONE WHO PLAYS ‘RHYTHMIC NOTES’ !
    I came across an interesting ‘interview’ reported in “the HINDU” and thought you might like to read it (unless you’ve already done it) at :
    http://www.thehindu.com/features/friday-review/music/hand-it-to-the-ustad/article4418722.ece?homepage=true
    Perhaps, the substance of the Ustad’s responses is – in his words –
    “I don’t know if you want to believe me but this love is for music. I never put myself before it. Today I am here. Tomorrow someone else would be. The stage is permanent not the persona. Creativity is about connect with life, people and Nature. Yes, they do push me to explore.”
    This has kept him at the ‘top’ – where he belongs!

    God Bless you.
    Raj

    • Hello Raj, Thank you for the link to the ariticle, I had not read it before. I like the quote, especially ‘creativity is about the connect with life, people and nature’. Creativity cannot stand alone, in a vacuume.. good thought.
      Cheers. Suja

  9. Narasimha Raj

    Suja, glad you liked the ‘quote’. You are already practicing a lot of what you said you like – creativity is about the connect with life, people and nature’.
    I sent the link-to-the-article to my grandson who is pursuing his Medical Studies in USA. (right now he is on ‘clinics’) He is 23 years of age and started learning to play Tabla at the age of 10 and continues playing Tabla as a ‘hobby’. I hope he gets the ‘message’ in what his ‘Tabla God’ has said and adapts to it in his Medical career as well.
    God Bless you.
    Raj

Leave a Reply

