Joyeux Noël !

Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas everybody! As always, I had hoped for a white Christmas but it is uncharacteristically mild in Switzerland this year. Instead of snow floating ethereally down, all I see out of my window are grey skies and incessant rain. Still, there are lots of ways to cheer oneself up. We went to Strasbourg and Colmar to visit the Christmas markets over the past couple of days. This is something we have done almost every year over the past decade. I love Strasbourg all dressed up for Christmas – the wonderful half-timbered houses decorated in myriad ways, shops lit with Christmas goods, market stalls selling from kitsch to wonderful artworks, musicians at every street corner, the smell of gingerbread (pain d’épices) and mulled wine (vin chaud/glühwein) making every breath an enjoyable one (it tastes even better!!). And over it all looms the immense, glorious presence of the Cathedral. As always, I went in to light candles and pray for the well being of all those I call my own.

As for music, who doesn’t love Christmas music? I certainly do! And yes, I love the cheesy songs as well as the lovely old ones! Remembering a lovely Christmas concert I had seen on TV many years back, I went in search of it and was happy to find it on Youtube. So many songs that I love and such wonderful voices! I hope you enjoy the Three Tenors singing all the old favourites. I especially adore Placido Domingo’s voice!

For those with limited time, do listen to to my favourites  :

White Christmas : 0:01:26

Carol of the Drum / The Little Drummer Boy : 0:13:04

Cantique de Noel / O Holy Night : 0:33:25

Silent Night : 0:44:45

Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Festive

4 responses to “Joyeux Noël !

  1. Narasimharaj

    “. . who doesn’t love Christmas music?”
    There are NONE!!!
    Suja, Wish you, your family and all followers-of-your-blogs
    MERRY CHRISTMAS & HAPPY NEW YEAR.
    Lovely ‘selections’ on a Special Day. The Music fills the ears & heart!
    Best Wishes.
    Raj

  2. indigoite

    Joyeux Noël to you and all your dear ones as well.

    The Three Tenors concerts was something very very special. Great music of course, made all the more unique because its unlikely that three tenors or sopranos of this quality will ever get together again.

    One of the “faults” of your blog is that it often sends me off on a strain of thought , sometimes unconnected :) I’ve often been dismayed by how many officiandos of Carnatic music are ignorant, or even contemptuous of other forms of music.This was one of the reasons why I wasn’t partial to this genre in my younger years. You are , of course, the very opposite of such a thought and its a delight to see Christmas music featured in what is largely a Carnatic music blog. Bravo !

    • Thank you Ramesh :) You are right, Carnatic music adherents can be rather snobbish. But this is true of adherents to other forms of music as well, be it Western Classical, Opera or Jazz. Racism is the same feeling of superiority on a larger scale, don’t you think? When people say such and such music is the BEST in the world, I always want to demand – Have you heard all forms of music in existence? Have you heard them long enough, and with enough knowledge to truly appreciate them? Have you had the same cultural and personal experiences which form a part of a listener’s experience of the music? How can you anyone make such universal statements? The only statement I can make is this : I love Carnatic Music and to my own ears, given my limited experience and my own cultural background, it sounds better than any other form of music. For the rest, there is much I enjoy and appreciate, and the three Tenors belting out my favourite Christmas songs in their magnificent voices is definitely one of them! I am glad you enjoyed them as much as I did :)
      Cheers. Suja

Leave a Reply

