RTP in Madhyamavati

I prostrate before the Goddesses, that they may bless us all with food for the body and for the soul, with courage to face all that life throws at us, with the wellbeing of our children and those of the future generations to come, with victory in setting uplifting goals as well as in achieving them, with prosperity in all its forms and with physical, mental, emotional and spiritual wealth for all.  Ashtalakshmi 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I wish a very Happy Navaratri to all my readers !! May the Goddesses cast their eyes on all of you!

I had planned for some very interesting posts for this period but unfortunately my computer became sick and was hospitalised for the last ten days. As I am going to be away for the next two and a half months, my household responsibilities also reached mammoth proportions this week. Therefore I have chosen a very simple post for this occasion, a post I hope you will enjoy nonetheless.

I present to you a Ragam Tanam Pallavi by Aruna Sairam which celebrates the eight forms of Lakshmi. I have heard it innumerable times since I bought the CD a number of years ago; each time I find the same sense of prayer and fulfilment.  The main raga is Madhyamavati, a very auspicious raga. Aruna Sairam goes on to garland each of the eight forms of Lakshmi with a different Raga, each elegant, each beautiful. The ragas of the ragamalika are

Kamboji – Aadi Lakshmi आदि लक्ष्मी The Primeval Goddess, the foundation

Kurinji – Dhaanya Lakshmi धान्य लक्ष्मी The Goddess of Grain, of food

Atana – Dhairya Lakshmi धैर्य लक्ष्मी The Goddess of Courage

Mohanam – Gaja Lakshmi गज लक्ष्मी The Goddess of Elephants, of livestock

Sahana – Santaana Lakshmi संतान लक्ष्मी  The Goddess of the Progeny

Ranjani – Vijaya Lakshmi विजय लक्ष्मी The Goddess of Victory

Bhairavi – Aishwarya Lakshmi ऐश्वर्य लक्ष्मी The Goddess of Prosperity

Lalita – Dhana Lakshmi धन लक्ष्मी The Goddess of Wealth

This version is from the CD – I strongly recommend it as a buy, it is excellent.

Ragam :


Tanam :


Pallavi :


For those who cannot link with the music server I use, you can download a slightly different version from Sangeethapriya here (free membership needed). It is Item 10 in this album. This version is not as good as the one in the CD but still beautiful.

My prayers to the Goddesses for all!

6 Comments

Filed under Carnatic Music

6 responses to “RTP in Madhyamavati

  1. indigoite

    Here’s a get well card for Suja’s computer. Get well soon and come back home :)

    What a collection of ragams – every one a favourite. Needs a nice evening, stillness in the air, great music system, cups of tea and then ……

    I presume you “annual migration” is coming. Safe journeys and look forward to posts once you have “arrived”.

    • Hi Ramesh, You are right, I am off on my biannual migration :) I am leaving for Chennai today, will be there for a couple of weeks attending a family function. Then off to Australia for 2 months. Posts will resume once I settle down in Oz..and thank you, my computer seems recovered :)
      Cheers. Suja

  2. Narasimharaj

    Suja, I heartily reciprocate your Good Wishes for Navarathri and Wish the same to all fellow-followers of your ‘posts’.
    Wish you an enjoyable stay in India & Oz.
    I was unable to listen to Aruna Sairam’s collection of ragaas on the links you have suggested.. I’ll try to get the CD.
    In fact, I am recommending to my daughter (in Houston-TX) to buy the CD for her daughter (who is planning to have her Carnatic Vocal Arangetram in June 2014 at Houston)
    May the AshtaLakshmis Bless you and your dear & near ones.
    Best Wishes.
    Raj.

    • Hello Raj, Thank you for your wishes. As I travelling at the moment and access the internet infrequently, I cannot check my links to the music. I shall do that when I return home. In the meanwhile, I do recommend the CD. It is very good and you will hopefully get much pleasure and peace from listening to it. I thank you for your prayers,
      Cheers. Suja

  3. Excellent posting….thank you.:)

    I wish you and your family a happy Navartri….:)

Leave a Reply

